RSS

My First Novel, Storm in the Rockies

10 Jan

I love to write, and I love words. I admit to having verbal envy when others  beat me at games such as Scrabble and Words with Friends, but, I get over it. Sometimes life hands you useless letters, sometimes it gives you triple scores, just like life, you have to roll with whatever comes your way. Sweet and simple.

In 2010, or thereabouts, I first participated in NaNoWriMo, a challenge to complete a 50,000 word novel in one month, that month being November. I accepted the challenge thrown at me by my children and dedicated myself to the “no plot, no problem” approach espoused by the founder of the event, Chris Baty. I created a fictional account of an abused girl who runs away from home and her travails, her poor choices and her path through a life riddled with sexual misalliances, and further abuse.

I have no idea where the story came from, I was never abused, had a great childhood, a good marriage, never did drugs, so conjuring up this protagonist, Kay, was like channeling some stranger who had invited herself into my life for thirty days! I completed the 50,000 word limit before the thirty days were up, and was able to claim my certificate of “Winner!”…yes, everyone is a winner as long as they cut and paste their document into the NaNoWriMo’s word calculator. 

I eventually edited and self-published the novel under the title, “Storm in the Rockies”. The cover was done by Adrienne Price, and she managed to capture some of the dark drama inherent in the tale in her art.

The novel is available on Kindle, through Amazon for $6.99. It is classified as an adult contemporary novel because of some sex scenes which are integral to the character and her story.

Storm in the Rockies

http://www.amazon.com/Storm-Rockies-Christine-Price-ebook/dp/B00EQNDI5G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1389320854&sr=8-1&keywords=christine+price+storm+in+the+rockies

 

 

 

 

See my other fascinating blogs     http://stardazer.wordpress.com/    and  http://omspiritguide.wordpress.com/

Also my travels at http://hcprice.blogspot.com/

My music: https://christineprice.bandcamp.com/

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My First Novel, Storm in the Rockies

  1. tuggy18

    January 12, 2014 at 8:26 am

    Wow my friend I had no idea you wrote a novel you are amazing gotta down load it .

     
    • jenny Hall

      January 12, 2014 at 8:28 am

      sorry Chris I am so stupid when it comes to computers . Jenny Hall is the name not tuggy 18 🙂

       
  2. jenny Hall

    January 12, 2014 at 8:32 am

    Forget any other comments that might have come through . NEW COMMENT .Chris i am so impressed never new you wrote a novel got to down load onto my kindle right away xxx

     

Leave a comment